What are DMs?
Direct Messages are private spaces for close friends. You can video, audio, and text chat, co-watch, share your pics and videos and play games just like in an Airtime room.
What's the difference between a Direct Message and a room?
1. Direct Messages are Invite-only
2. Direct Messages have a 10-person cap
3. There are no room roles
4. Doorbell Notifications are OFF in Direct Messages. This means we will not notify you when someone ENTERS a Direct message room you're in.
How to start one
To start a Direct Message,
- Tap the People tab.
- Then tap the pencil icon in the top right.
- Select 1-10 friends that you’d like to add to the Message,
- and tap Start Chat.
DM Privacy Settings
To customize who can message you,
- Navigate to your profile.
- Then, tap Settings in the top right.
- Under Account Details, tap Privacy.
- Decide who can send you message requests or add you to groups.
- If you choose Everyone, you can be messaged or added to groups by everyone except people you've blocked.
- If you choose Only People You Follow, you can't be messaged or added to groups by anyone you don't follow.
Once you’ve started a DM or been added to one, you can access your DMs by hitting the People tab and selecting "Messages."
NOTE: Only people on iOS can send & receive Direct Messages at this time. If someone is on Android or Web, they will not see any messages sent to them via a DM. Don't worry, DMs are coming to Android and Web soon!